Aston Clinton St Leonard, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png BuckinghamshireGotoarrow.png Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aylesbury
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Aylesbury PLU
Registration District Aylesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1738; For more records see Aston Clinton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1844
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wendover
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Aston Clinton St. Leonard was a chapel of ease created by the year 1739, lying within the civil parish boundary of Aston Clinton St Michael, with the hamlet of St. Leonard. There is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Aston Clinton St Leonard, Buckinghamshire Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1739-1754

FREG
1739-1754

JOIN
1739-1754

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1603.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241211.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web site

Aston Clinton (including St Leonards) on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-108. Date accessed and adapted 23 May 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 28 January 2014.
  4. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 June 2014, at 21:07.
  • This page has been accessed 766 times.