Aston sub Edge, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Aston sub Edge, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aston sub Edge, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kiftsgate
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Evesham PLU
Registration District Evesham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1537
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ASTON-SUB-EDGE, a parish in the district of Evesham and county of Gloucester; on the West Midland railway, under Bredon hill, 2 miles SSW of Honeybourne r. station, and 6 ESE of Evesham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aston sub Edge, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) (£)[2]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
GOOG = Google Books - free[4]
IARC= Internet Archive - free[5]
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index - (£)[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
ASTON SUB EDGE PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1539-1812
FHSO 1801-1836
FREG 1539-1812
GOOG 1566-1718 (gaps) 1566-1718 (gaps) 1566-1718 (gaps)
IARC 1539-1800s (gaps) 1539-1800s (gaps) 1539-1800s (gaps)
JOIN 1539-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288772.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/10337. Date accessed: 17 July 2013.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  4. T.P., Collections for Gloucestershire (1861). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  5. 'Descripton of an Ancient Register of the Parish of Aston-sub-Edge, co. Gloucester; with Extracts,' Collectanea Topographica et Genealogica, Vol. 7 (1841):279-285. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  6. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' Joiner's Marriage Index, accessed 29 January 2014.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 23:16.
  • This page has been accessed 2,453 times.