Atascosa County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Atascosa County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Atascosa County, Texas|
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||January 25, 1856|
|Address|| Atascosa County Courthouse|
5 Courthouse Circle Drive;
Jourdanton, TX 78026
Atascosa County Website
County CourthouseCounty Clerk has birth records from 1890, death
records from 1903, marriage, probate and land
records from 1856 and court records 1860; District
Clerk has divorce records
1856--Atascosa County was created 25 January 1856 from Bexar Land District. County seat: Jourdanton 
The county's name is derives from a Spanish term for "boggy."
See an interactive map of Atascosa County border changes.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Atascosa County Cemeteries list from the Atascosa County TXGenWeb site
- Atascosa County Cemeteries Interment.net
- Atascosa County Cemeteries complete listing with transcriptions, maps and information.
- Atascosa County Cemeteries transcriptions from the Texas Tombstone Project and the USGenWeb archives
- Atascosa County Cemetery and Tombstone Photos from the Atascosa County TXGenWeb site
- Atascosa County Cemetery Surname Index from the Atascosa County TXGenWeb site
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.a
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Atascosa County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Local Landmarks - National Register of Historic Places
- Atascosa County 1873 General Land Office Map online from the Portal to Texas History
- Atascosa County 1879 General Land Office Map online from the Portal to Texas History
- Atascosa County 1894 General Land Office Map online from the Portal to Texas History
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- Confederate Pension Applications - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Confederate Indigent Records - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Korean War Casualties - USGenWeb Archives Project
- Muster Roll of Capt. Levi English Co., Mounted Volunteers, 1855 - TXGenWeb
- World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel
Off-line Newspaper Information
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Atascosa County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has San Antonio newspapers from the late 1800's that may include residents from Atascosa County.
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas Birth Records - transcriptions - USGenWeb Archives Project
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records,br.
- Marriages - transcriptions - USGenWeb Archives Project
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
Societies and Libraries
Atascosa County Genealogical Society Library
4th and H Avenue
P.O. Box 93
Poteet, Texas 78065
Family History Centers
Family History Center
636 Oak Haven
- Atascosa County TXGenWeb Site
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project - transcriptions
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Atascosa County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 13 August 2013, at 20:39.
- This page has been accessed 4,786 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More