Atchison County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a northwestern Missouri County. For other uses, see Atchison.

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Atchison County

Guide to Atchison County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Atchison County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 23, 1843
County Seat Rock Port
Courthouse
Address Atchison County Courthouse
P.O. Box 280
400 South Washington Street
Rock Port, MO 64482
Telephone: (660) 744-6214
Atchison County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Recorder has marriage and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records;
County Clerk has birth records 1883-1893; Probate
Judge has probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1843--Atchison County was created 23 February 1843 from Holt County. County seat: Rock Port[2] Atchison County was originally named Allen County when it was formed in 1843. It was renamed Atchison, County in 1845.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Fremont County, Iowa  • Holt  • Nemaha County, Nebraska  • Nodaway  • Otoe County, Nebraska  • Page County, Iowa  • Richardson County, Nebraska

Atchison CountyWorth CountyNodaway CountyAndrew CountyHolt CountyDeKalb CountyGentry CountyClinton CountyBuchanan CountyTaylor CountyPage CountyDoniphan CountyFremont CountyBrown CountyNemaha CountyMarshall CountyRichardson CountyJohnson CountyPawnee CountyNemaha CountyJohnson CountyOtoe CountyCass CountyMOAtchison1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Atchison County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Atchison County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A Biographical History of Nodaway and Atchison counties, Missouri compendium of national biography (1901) is available online free from Google Books. Part I contains biographies of national celebrities. Part II (starts on p.219) contains biographies of Atchison and Nodaway county residents.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from the History of Holt and Atchison Counties [1]

  • The earliest inhabitants of what is now Missouri where Indians.
  • The first non indians to lay claim to what is now Missouri were the French
  • 1768 - Spain became the "owners" of the area.
  • 1800 October 1 - Spain ceded this area back to France
  • 1803 October 31 - France ceded this territory to the USA.
  • 1821 August 10 - Missouri became a state.
  • 1836 - The "Platte Purchase" was made with the Indians.
  • 1839 - The first white settler to settle in what is now Atchison County.
  • 1843 February 23 - Atchison County was organized.

Maps

Moatchison.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Atchison County, Missouri for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Civil War

- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union)Edit , Company L
:- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 58th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
:- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Atchison County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Atchison County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Atchison County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Atchison County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Atchison County, Missouri
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Atchison County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Atchison County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Atchison County, Missouri. Page 397 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  4. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 13 October 2014, at 18:36.
  • This page has been accessed 9,030 times.