Athelington, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Hoxne Hundred Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes


Guide to Athelington, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Historical populations
Year Pop.
1801 70
1821 100
1841 111
1851 117
1871 -
1891 106

Parish History

ATHELINGTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, E. division of Suffolk, 6 miles (S. E. by E.) from Eye[1] Also see.[2]  View Picture of Athelington Parish Church



Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.   Refer to Athelington and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Athelington is in Hoxne district. To search an index of Hoxne district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Athelington, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Athelington, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1836
BOYD
1695-1753

NBI

1699-1899

The Parish Registers begin in 1694.  They can be view at the Suffolk Record Office.  A copy of the registers from 1694 to 1900 can be puchased from the  Suffolk Record Office.  For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanry, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Athelington.   See Suffolk Church Record for further details.

Census records

There are census records available for Athelington from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Athelington Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Athelington was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District..  Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Athelington (St. Peter), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Hoxne, the E. division of Suffolk, it is 6 miles S. E. from Eye.[6]


Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 108-112 Date accessed and adapted: 13 January 2014.
  2. William White, 1844, History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Suffolk]]; page 450, Athelington
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 108-112. Date accessed: 16 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,660 times.