Atherstone on Stour, WarwickshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Atherstone on Stour, Warwickshire: 'family history and genealogy'':parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Atherstone on Stour, Warwickshire|
|Poor Law Union||Stratford on Avon PLU|
|Registration District||Stratford on Avon|
|Parish registers: 1661|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1611|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Atherston-upon-Stour, is a parish, in the union of Stratford-upon-Avon, and the hundred of Kington, Warwickshire. It is 3 miles S from Stratford; and contains the village of Ailston. The parish is nearly surrounded by the county of Gloucester.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Atherstone on Stour, Warwickshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Atherstone on Stour, Warwickshire Parish Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464173.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 17:33.
- This page has been accessed 508 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki