Audenshaw, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Audenshaw, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Audenshaw, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ashton Under Lyne PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashton Under Lyne
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

AUDENSHAW (St. Stephen), a division, in the parish and union of Ashton-under-Lyne, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 5 miles (E. by S.)from Manchester. A church district was formed in 1844, and endowed by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners; and a church dedicated to St. Stephen, the first stone of which was laid in May 1845, has been erected in the early English style, with a tower, partly by means of a grant from the Church Commissioners. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and for Methodists of the New Connexion.[1]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

  Online Records

Audenshaw chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Ashton under Lyne St Michael's to which it is attached, have not been transcribed and displayed online at the present time. Check frequently for updates.

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
AUDENSHAW ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1844) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1844-1904 1844-1904 1846-1907 1846-1907 1846-1921 1846-1921
LOPC None 1885-1907 None
CBMD 1837-1974 1846-2007 1837-1974
ASHTON UNDER LYNE ST MICHAEL PARISH (1596) Indexes
FS 1594-1843 1754-1837 1768-1892
LOPC 1810-1873 1754-1844 1892-1908
AC (£) 1594-1720 1594-1720 1594-1720

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306918.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 29 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 September 2014, at 15:25.
  • This page has been accessed 3,900 times.