Audlem, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Audlem

Guide to Audlem, Cheshire family history and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Audlem, Cheshire
St James' Church, Audlem.jpg
St James' Church, Audlem
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Nantwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Nantwich PLU
Registration District Market Drayton; Nantwich
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nantwich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AUDLEM (St. James), is a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester; comprising the townships of Audlem, Buerton, Hankelow, and Tittenley, part of Dodcot cum Wilkesley, and part of Newhall. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists. [1]

Audlem, St. James the Great (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Audlem, Buerton, Hankelow and Tittenley, with parts of Coole Pilate, Dodcott cum Wilkesley and Newhall (near Audlem). Registers of Baptisms 1557–1928, Marriages 1557–1923 and Burials 1557–1947 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. 

St James' Church, Audlem is in the village of Audlem in south Cheshire, England. The church dates from the late 13th century with additions in the 19th century.

Audlem is a large village and civil parish located in the unitary authority of Cheshire East and the ceremonial county of Cheshire in the north west of England, approximately 11 km (7 miles) south of Nantwich. Close to the border with the neighbouring county of Shropshire, the village is eight miles (13 km) east of Whitchurch and seven miles (11 km) north of Market Drayton.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241247.

Church Records

Audlem St James parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Audlem St James Parish (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1557-1871
1557-1871
1557-1871
FS PR's 1557-1909
  NONE
1557-1923
  NONE
1557-1947
  NONE
FS BT'S 1579-1900   NONE
1579-1843
  NONE
1579-1891
  NONE
JOIN
1557-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Audlem, 1557-1947 Microfilm copy of original filmed at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England.
Cheshire Record Office call no.: P113/1/1-5, 2/1-4, 3/1-6, 5/1-2.

Here is a list of church registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register FHL Film
Baptisms: 1557-November 1854. Marriages: 1557-1754. Burials:1557-1812. BRITISH 2093490 Items 2 - 8
Baptisms, August 1846-1928. Marriages, 1754-1812 (includes banns), 1813-September 1900. BRITISH 2093491
Marriages, May 1900-1923. Burials, 1813-1923, 1947. BRITISH 2093492 Items 1 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for Audlem, 1579-1900 Microfilm copy of original records in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 13.

Bishop's Transcripts FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1579, 1600-1602, 1605, 1608-1610, 1612-1615, 1620-1621, 1626-1627, 1633-1732. BRITISH 1655364 Item 3
Marriages, 1730-1843. Burials & baptisms, 1730-1843, 1848-1853, 1864-1889. Burials 1890-1899. BRITISH 1655365
Baptisms, 1889-1900. BRITISH 1655366 Item 1

Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts are online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Online transcripts completed at Cheshire Parish Register project.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Audlem, Baptist Chapel. Built in 1840.
  • Cox Bank, Jubilee Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1861.
  • Audlem, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Built in 1862.
  • Audlem, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1871, closed in 1943.

Non-Conformist Records:

Registers of baptisms 1878–1926 are at the Cheshire Record Office.Church records for the Primitive Methodist Church, Audlem, 1878-1926 Notes Microfilm of original filmed at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 246.  Baptisms, 1878-1926 (title board incorrect). FHL BRITISH Film 2299417 Item 15

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

Nantwich (1837–1937)
Crewe (1937–74)
Congleton & Crewe (1974–88)
South Cheshire (1988–98)
Cheshire Central (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Nantwich Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 112-116. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 July 2014, at 19:49.
  • This page has been accessed 4,937 times.