Audley, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Audley, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Audley, Staffordshire
Audley St James Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Newcastle under Lyme PLU
Registration District Newcastle under Lyme
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle under Lyme
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AUDLEY (St. James), a parish, in the union of Newcastle-under-Lyme, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill, and of the county of Stafford, 5 miles(N. W.) from Newcastle, on the road to Nantwich. At Talk-o'-th'-Hill is another church; and there are numerous places of worship for dissenters in the parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See also Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Audley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
AUDLEY ST JAMES PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI

1754-1875


FMP 1538-1868 1538-1868 1538-1875 1538-1875 1539-1867 1539-1867
FREG 1538-1713
1538-1645, 1653-1712
1538-1714
FS 1674-1857
1676-1838


NBI



1538-1879

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1538-1937 Mar 1538-1921 Bur 1538-1914
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1674-1857 Mar 1674-1857 Bur 1674-1857

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire FreeReg and can be searched for free.

Non-Conformist Churches

Church St. Primitive  Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  CHURCH ST. PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1922) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1922-1995






Wood Lane Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  WOOD LANE PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1873) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1873-1951






Cemetery Records

The following MIs were kindly contributed by Alf Beard:

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474619.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle under Lyme Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Audley/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 November 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

|}

|}


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 November 2014, at 15:39.
  • This page has been accessed 3,608 times.