Aughton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Aughton, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aughton, Lancashire
St Michael's Parish Church, Aughton.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ormskirk PLU
Registration District Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Meols
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AUGHTON (St. Michael), a chapelry, in the parish of Halton, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 7 miles (N. E.) from Lancaster. The church is an ancient structure, with a steeple in the centre. The Roman Catholic chapel here, built in 1767, and enlarged in 1823, is dedicated to the Blessed Virgin, and has a small endowment.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

There is much online content for Aughton St Michael's Parish and its attached chapelry of Christ Church, including baptisms, marriages and some burials. These records include vital content as follows: 

AC =Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FS =FamilySearch.org
FMP =FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG =FreeReg
JOIN =Joiner's Marriage Index
LBMD =LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC=Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
AUGHTON ST MICHAEL PARISH (1541) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1541-1764; 1841-1882 1541-1764; 1841-1882 None
LOPC 1541-1900  1541-1901 1541-1896
JOIN 1813-1837
AC  1541-1764  1541-1764
1541-1764
AUGHTON CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1877) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS  None None None
LOPC 1877-1911 None - see parish (above) 1877-1920 
AC None None None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.


Poor Law Unions

Ormskirk Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Aughton on GENUKI

http://www.aughtonstmichael.org.uk/index.html Church Website includes history of the church (PDF)


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 29 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 20:38.
  • This page has been accessed 10,307 times.