Augusta Parish, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Augusta Parish
Contents |
History
Augusta Parish serves Augusta County, Virginia. Located in Staunton, it has since been renamed Trinity Church. Trinity Chapel also served parishioners.[1]
A chapel of ease, built in 1747, served parishioners in what is now Rockingham County, Virginia.[2]
Founded
- 1738[3]
Resources
Cemetery
More than 100 tombstones from Trinity Episcopal Churchyard are described at Find A Grave.
Parish History
Augusta Parish reports:[4]
- Convention of 1820 (p. 142)
- Convention of 1821 (p. 147)
- Convention of 1823 (p. 163)
- Convention of 1824 (p. 171)
- Convention of 1825 (p. 182)
- Convention of 1829 (p. 232)
- Convention of 1830 (p. 245)
- Convention of 1831 (p. 258)
- Convention of 1833 (p. 292)
- Convention of 1834 (p. 307)
- Convention of 1835 (p. 326)
Bibliography
- Van Devanter, J.N. History of the Augusta Church from 1737 to 1900. Staunton, Va.: The Ross Printing Company, 1900. Digital version at Google Books.
- Ruffin, Beverley. Augusta Parish, Virginia, 1738-1780. Verona, Va.: McClure Press, 1970. Available at FHL Book 975.5916 K2r.
Parish Records
Colonial parish registers have been lost.
Websites
- Trinity Church Marker, The Historical Marker Database
- First Church in Rockingham County, The Historical Marker Database
References
- ↑ Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836), 307. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ First Church in Rockingham County, The Historical Marker Database
- ↑ Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 29 January 2011; Hening's Statutes at Large; Emily J. Salmon and Edward D.C. Campbell Jr., The Hornbook of Virginia History (Richmond: Library of Virginia, 1994).
- ↑ Francis Lister Hawks, A Narrative of Events Connected with the Rise and Progress of the Protestant Episcopal Church in Virginia: To Which is Added an Appendix, Containing the Journals of the Conventions in Virginia from the Commencement to the Present Time (New York: Harper and Brothers, 1836). Digital version at Google Books.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 March 2013, at 17:50.
- This page has been accessed 1,051 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More