Austerfield, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Austerfield, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Austerfield, Yorkshire Genealogy|
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Doncaster PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559; For more records see Blyth|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Nottingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
AUSTERFIELD, a chapelry, in the parish of Blythe, union of Doncaster, N. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 1¼ mile (N. N. E.) from Bawtry; containing 314 inhabitants.
Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bllyth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|IARC = Archive.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|AUSTERFIELD CHAPELRY (1559) Online Records|
|| 1563-1716, 1725-1842
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Austerfield and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bllyth to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Bllyth page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464275.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England"(1848), pp. 112-116.. Date accessed: 07 January 2014
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- ↑ 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 27 October 2014.
- This page was last modified on 17 January 2015, at 17:48.
- This page has been accessed 3,183 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More