Autauga County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Alabama Gotoarrow.png Autauga County

Guide to Autauga County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Autauga County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Autauga County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 21, 1818
County Seat Prattville
Courthouse
Address Autauga County Courthouse
135 N Court Street Suite B
Prattville, AL 36067
Phone: (334) 358-6700 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Autauga County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg

Autauga County Courthouse
135 N Court Street Suite B
Prattville, AL 36067
Phone: (334) 358-6700

Judge of Probate has probate, land and military record Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and Court Record Record Office has marriage from early 1800's, Health Department has birth and Death Records [1]

Quick History

Wikipedia

Parent County

21 Nov 1818: Autauga County was created from Montgomery County. [2] 1819-1831: Washington was the county seat. 1831-1868: Kingston was the county seat. since 12 December 1868: Prattville has been the county seat to this day.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Millbrook | Prattville

Towns

Autaugaville | Billingsley

Unincorporated communities

Bethel Grove | Bonita | Booth | Dosterville | Forester | New Prospect

Neighboring Counties

Chilton | Dallas | Elmore | Lowndes | Montgomery Alautauga.jpg

Resources

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Biographies of many notable residents of Autauga County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 345.

Cemeteries

Find-A-Grave  ~  Listing of 173 Autauga County cemeteries along with transcriptions and partial transcriptions

Autauga County ALGenWeb  ~  database of Autauga County cemeteries (not all inclusive) and transcriptions.

http://www.interment.net/us/al/autauga.htm

By selecting the above link, you will find the following cemeteries:


Interment.net:


BillionGraves

Additional Autauga County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Historical populations
Year Pop.  %±
1820 3,853
1830 11,874 208.2%
1840 14,342 20.8%
1850 15,023 4.7%
1860 16,739 11.4%
1870 11,623 −30.6%
1880 13,108 12.8%
1890 13,330 1.7%
1900 17,915 34.4%
1910 20,038 11.9%
1920 18,908 −5.6%
1930 19,694 4.2%
1940 20,977 6.5%
1950 18,186 −13.3%
1960 18,739 3.0%
1970 24,460 30.5%
1980 32,259 31.9%
1990 34,222 6.1%
2000 43,671 27.6%
2010 54,571 25.0%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  Census Bureau

For tips on accessing Autauga County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Searchable 1830 Census Index

Searchable 1840 Census Index

Searchable 1850 Census index by beatsLink to Beat Map.

Black, James M. Autauga County, Alabama 1850 Census. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Searchable 1860 Cenus index by beats

Link to Partial 1910 Census

Link to Partial 1910 Census Index, ED 1

Link to Partial 1910 Census Index, ED 2

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Searchable index of Commioners Court Records

Searchable index of Orphans Court Records

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Autauga County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Migrations

www.migrations.org/county.php3

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Autauga County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Autauga County.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A, B and G
- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company D "Pearsons Dragoons"
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company H [formerly Independent Co.]
- 3rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I "Wetumpka Light Guards"
- 6th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company L "Autauga Rifles" [subsequently, Company A]
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I (Mounted)
- 24th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Autauga Guards"
- 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company B




Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Autauga County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Autauga County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Autauga County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Autauga County is in District 2.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
  • 1871-1928 - Autauga County Birth Index 1871-1928. Batch C541606 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1908-1912 - Autauga County Birth Index 1908-1912. Batch C541602 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1830–1868; 1877; 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1839-1844 - Autauga County Marriage Books 1 and 2 Index 1839-1844. Batch M541601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1834-1865 - Autauga County Marriage Books 2 thru 4 Index 1834-1865. Batch M541602 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1839–1867 Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
  • 1865-1873 - Autauga County Marriage Books 5 and 6 Index 1865-1873. Batch M541603 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1874-1889 - Autauga County Marriage Books 7 and 8 Index 1874-1889. Batch M541604 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1889-1908 - Autauga County Marriage Books 9 thru 11 Index 1889-1908. Batch M541605 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1898-1912 - Autauga County Marriage Books 12 and 13 Index 1898-1912. Batch M735415 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1912-1922 - Autauga County Marriage Books 14 and 15 Index 1912-1922. Batch M735374 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1922-1932 - Autauga County Marriage Books 16 and 17 Index 1922-1932. Batch M735349 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1925-1928 - Autauga County Marriage Index 1925-1928. Batch M735334 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.
  • 1908-1912 - Autauga County Death Index 1908-1912. Batch B541608 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Autauga County has two books listed.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers


Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 35.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:11.
  • This page has been accessed 29,833 times.