Averham with Kelham, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

[[Image:|thumb|right|Averham St+Michael Nottinghamshire.jpg]]

Averham with Kelham, Nottinghamshire
Averham St+Michael Nottinghamshire.jpg
Averham St+Michael Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Kelham beginning 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for Kelham beginning 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AVERHAM (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¼ miles (W. by N.) from Newark. The living is a rectory, with that of Kelham it was annexed in 1775. [1]

Additional information:

Averham St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient parish in the village and civil parish of Averham in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire Averham Wikipedia

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the parish Averham St Michael and All Angels From 1755 the parish of Kelham, Nottinghamshire was a united benefice but note  that separate parish records were kept.

The church of St Michael has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building


To avoid confusion see Kelham, Nottinghamshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Averham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
AVERHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Averham St Michael and All Angels

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1964 Marriages 1539-1901 Burials 1538-2003 Bishop’s Transcripts 1601-1855
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Separate registers exist for Kelham, Nottinghamshire

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Averham with Kelham

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,002 times.