Avington, HampshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Avington, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Winchester PLU|
|Parish registers: 1609|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
AVINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the hundred of Fawley, Winchester and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from Winchester..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Avington, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|AVINGTON PARISH Online Records|
Kilcommons, David. The Rectors of St. Mary's. A listing of dates, Rector's name, Source of Evidence,and Observations, beginning in 1770-1983, with the name Ellis Jones. Article in the Hampshire Family Historian, Vol.XII,no.1,May 1985, pages10-11, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288803.
Contributed by Halliwell, Clare. The Kimbers of Avington. A Family tree starting with John Kimber = Ann starting in 1751-1852. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XII,no.1, May 1985, page11. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v.12
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 116-120. Date accessed: 21 June 2013.
- ↑ 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
- ↑ 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.
- This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:24.
- This page has been accessed 1,752 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More