Awliscombe, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png DevonGotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Awliscombe, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Awliscombe, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemyock
County Devon
Poor Law Union Honiton PLU
Registration District Honiton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dunkeswell
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AWLISCOMBE (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Honiton, hundred of Hemyock, Honiton and N. divisions of Devon, 2 miles (W. by N.) from Honiton. The church was erected about the time of Henry VI. It has a handsome stone screen, and a magnificent window finely ornamented. The remains of a large encampment supposed to be Roman, called Hembury fort are in the parish.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Awliscombe, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
AWLISCOMBE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1902 1559-1902

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241315.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848),pp. 116-120. Date accessed: 16 July 2012.
  2. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,306 times.