Axbridge, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Axbridge, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Axbridge, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Winterstoke
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Axbridge PLU
Registration District Axbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Axbridge
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AXBRIDGE (St. John the Baptist), a markettown and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Winterstoke, E. division of Somerset, 18 miles (S. by W.) from Bristol, and 130 (W. by S.) from London. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Axbridge, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[7]
AXBRIDGE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1597-1905
1597-1912
1597-1904
FS 1597-1812
1597-1812

MARR
1562-1838

NBI

1597-1899
SOPC 1813-1838
1813-1837
1813-1837
Church records on microfilm

Bishops Transcripts

Church Vital Records

Church Accounts

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474608.

Poor law Union

The Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834 placed the responsibility for the care of the poor in England and Wales, from 1834 onward, on Poor Law Unions[8]. The Poor Law Unions and their workhouses took over this responsibility from the Church of England parishes. Prior to 1834 a few parishes or collections of parishes had established a few workhouses to help relieve the poor and provide indoor relief in the form of food, clothes and shelter.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[9] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Axbridge/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  7. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  8. England and Wales Poor Law
  9. Land Tax Assessment Records


Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 July 2014, at 18:41.
  • This page has been accessed 2,167 times.