Axminster, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes Gotoarrow.png Axminster

Guide to Axminster, Dorset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Axminster, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axminster
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Axminster PLU
Registration District Axminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Honiton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Axminster, parish and market town, in the above hundred. Axminister is an ancient parish partly in Devon and partly in Dorset, and is on the river Axe, 25 miles NE. of Exeter and 144 miles SW. of London by rail.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Church Records

Online Axminster, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
.
Images
Indexes 1606-1636 FindMyPast[2]

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1606-1636) are online at Internet Archive - free.[3]

Abstracts of bishop's transcripts (1634-1635) are online at Internet Archive - free.[3]

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 03 July 2103.
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 21 May 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:21.
  • This page has been accessed 1,334 times.