Aylesbury, BuckinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  BuckinghamshireGotoarrow.png  Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aylesbury Borough
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Aylesbury PLU
Registration District Aylesbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1565
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wendover
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Peculiar of Aylesbury; Post-1845 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

AYLESBURY (St. Mary), a borough, market-town, parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Aylesbury, county of Buckingham, of which it is the county town, 16½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Buckingham. There is a chapelry within St. Mary's Parish. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans, and one for Particular Baptists in the hamlet of Walton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN
1565-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241221.

Genealogy

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Prisons

Websites

Aylesbury on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 120-124.Date accessed: 05 June 2013
  2. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 June 2014, at 21:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,372 times.