Aylesford, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Aylesford, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Aylesford, Kent
Aylesford St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Aylesford St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Larkfield
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling PLU
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

AYLESFORD (St. Peter), a town and parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 3½ miles (N. N. W.) from Maidstone. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Aylesford is a village and civil parish on the River Medway four miles north of Maidstone and in that district of the county. See Aylesford Wikipedia

Aylesford St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Rochester; within the parish is Eccles and to the south is the Royal British Legion Village providing nursing homes, sheltered housing and independent living units, as well as employment and social activities, helping all disabled veterans living in, or moving to, the area.

The church of St Peter has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 416-447 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Aylesford, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Aylesford, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1718-1861
1718-1837

FMP 1813-1866
1750-1812

FS BTs 1718-1861 1718-1837 1718-1861
FS PRs 1653-1900 1653-1734, 1813-1900; 1754-1819 (banns) 1653-1734, 1813-1900
IGI 1653-1812 1653-1837

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Aylesford are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Aylesford 1851-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Malling Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 17 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:07.
  • This page has been accessed 2,974 times.