Babingley, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Babingley, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Babingley, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Lynn
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Freebridge Lynn PLU
Registration District Freebridge Lynn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Babingley St Mary and St Felix is an ancient parish with two churches or more accurately the old ruined church of St Felix and it's replacement "tin Tabernacle."

The chapel of St Felix is unique in East Anglia, and perhaps in England, as a thatched, cruciform 'tin tabernacle', a corrugated iron building constructed from a kit, probably made by Boulton and Paul of Norwich.

It was declared redundant by the Church of England and acquired by the British Orthodox church. When Anglicans locally rejected the ordination of women within the Church Of England they did not feel comfortable with conversion to Roman Catholicism but embraced the Orthodox tradition. 

BABINGLEY (St. Felix), a parish, in the union and hundred of Freebridge-Lynn, W. division of Norfolk, 8½ miles (N. N. E.) from Lynn. [1]

Resources

Church Records

Babingley, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Babingley, Norfolk Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1662-1812

FREG 1630-1812
1630-1812
1630-1812
FS ATs 1630-1812 1630-1812 1630-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
JOIN
1695-1805

This parish does not appear on Record Search as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication

Content Film
Baptisms 1630-1636, 1668-1812 Marriages 1636, 1679-1798 Burials 1630, 1668-1797 FHL BRITISH Film
1526742 Item 5

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438857.

Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Freebridge Lynn

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes B

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-128. Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 September 2014, at 20:16.
  • This page has been accessed 1,126 times.