Babworth, Nottinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Babworth, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Babworth All Saints Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||East Retford PLU|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1622|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
BABWORTH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of East Retford, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham,1¼ mile (W.) from East Retford.
Babworth All Saints is an Ancient Parish which includes Great Morton, Ranby, Morton Grange, and Little Morton.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of the church Babworth All Saints
Babworth All Saints dates from the 15th century and was restored in 1860-1878 and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage. British listed building
Babworth is well known for its connection with the Pilgrim Fathers - the early settlers of the Plymouth Colony in present-day Massachusetts, USA. Richard Clyfton was parson here between 1586 and 1605. Two of his friends were William Brewster and William Bradford, both passengers aboard The Mayflower. The church contains many interesting items recalling the Pilgrim Fathers including the chalice used by Richard Clyfton for communion services.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Babworth, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Babworth, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Babworth All Saints
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1622-1901 Marriages 1626-1958 Burials 1626-1924 Bishop's transcripts 1600-1848
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Babworth
Babworth - All Saints. An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the Church, dating from 1727, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 70, pages 3-9, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Babworth in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Babworth/index.html
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:36.
- This page has been accessed 2,436 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More