Baca County, ColoradoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Colorado
Baca County
Guide to Baca County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Baca County, Colorado | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Colorado | |
![]() Location of Colorado in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 9, 1852 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Springfield |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Baca County Courthouse 741 Main Street Springfield, CO 81073-1548 Phone 719.523.4372 Baca County Website |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1889. District Court has divorce, probate and court
records from 1910[1]
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
County Seat
Springfield [1]
Parent County
- Before 1861 the extreme western edge of this modern Colorado county was in New Mexico.
- 9 January 1852 it was created part of Taos County in New Mexico Territory.[2] [3]
- 1 February 1860 it became part of Mora County.[2]
- 28 February 1861 it was transferred to Colorado[4] [5] (1 Nov 1861 Huerfano County).[6]
- Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.
- 16 April 1889 Baca County was created from Las Animas County.
Neighboring Counties
- Bent
- Cimarron County, Oklahoma
- Las Animas
- Morton County, Kansas
- Prowers
- Stanton County, Kansas
- Texas County, Oklahoma
- Union County, New Mexico
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Baca County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.
Church Records
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local History
Land and Property
Maps
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Public Records
School Records
Repositories
Archives
Courthouse
Family History Centers
Libraries
Baca County Public Library
1260 Main Street
Springfield, CO 81073
Phone: (719) 523-6962
Museums
Societies
Baca County Historical Society
901 Santa Fe Dr.
Springfield, CO 81073
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Divorce
Places
Websites
- Baca County COGenWeb
- Family History Library Catalog
- Baca County, Colorado Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 97, Baca County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- ↑ Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
- ↑ Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
- ↑ Handybook, 99, Huerfano County, Colorado.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 17:30.
- This page has been accessed 1,779 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

