Backford, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Backford

Guide to Backford, Cheshire family history and genealogy:  parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Backford, Cheshire
St. Oswald Church Backford.JPG
St. Oswald Church Backford
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton; Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton PLU
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1581
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BACKFORD (St. Oswald), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, partly in the Higher division of the hundred of Wirrall, and partly in the Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester; it is comprised of the townships of Backford, Caughall, Chorlton, Lea, and Mollington-Tarrant.[1]

Backford, St. Oswald is  an ancient parish serving the townships of Backford, Caughall, Chorlton by Backford, Great Mollington and Lea by Backford. Registers of Baptisms 1562–1981, Marriages 1562–1977 and Burials 1573–1981 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

St Oswald's Church, Backford is in the village of Backford, northwest of Chester, Cheshire. The church dates from the 14th century with later additions and restorations.It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Wirral South. Its benefice is combined with that of Holy Trinity Church, Capenhurst.

The first mention of a church on this site is in the 13th century. Soon after this it was given by the barons of Dunham Massey to the Benedictine Priory at Birkenhead. At the dissolution of the monasteries the advowson was passed to the Diocese of Chester. The chancel dates from the 14th century and the tower from the 15th century. The nave was rebuilt in 1728–31.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241252.

Church Records

Backford St Oswald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
Backford St Oswald Parish (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1562-1871
1562-1871
1573-1981
FS PR's 1562-1909
  NONE
1562-1934
  NONE
1573-1981
  NONE
FS BT'S 1581-1855   NONE
1581-1838
  NONE
1581-1840
  NONE
JOIN
1562-1836

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Backford, 1562-1981 Cheshire Record Office reference: P32 1/1-4, P32/2/1-2, P32/3/1-3, P32/4, P32/5/1-2, P32/6.

 An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online FamilySearch Historical Records.

Here is a list of church registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1562-1808. Baptisms, 1813-1981. Marriages, 1808-1812 (includes banns).  BRITISH 2093492 Items 6 - 12
Marriages, 1813-1964. Banns of marriages, 1824-1906. Burials, 1813-1981. Burials in woollen, 1678-1686 (includes memorandums, 1725-1735). VAULT BRITISH 2093504 Items 1 - 6

The parish register transcripts online are complete at Cheshire Parish Register project.

Title Bishop's transcripts for Backford, 1581-1840  Early entries in Latin. The church is St. Oswald. Cheshire Record Office refence: EDB 14.

Bishop's Transcripts FHLFilm
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1581, 1586, 1600-1602, 1605 1607-1610, 1615-1617, 1619, 1622-1624, 1626, 1633-1634, 1638-1642, 1663-1664, 1669-1671, 1674-1675, 1677, 1679-1681, 1685, 1690-1691, 1694-1703, 1705-1739, 1741-1787, 1789-1838. Baptisms, burials, 1838-1840. BRITISH 
1656809 Item 1
Another filming, 1989 BRITISH 1655366 Item 2

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837-1869)
  • Chester (1870-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937)

Poor Law Unions

Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Chester Poor Law Union (1871-1930)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 124-128. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  3. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 69–70, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 4,046 times.