Backwell, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Gotoarrow.pngSomerset Parishes

Guide to Backwell, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Backwell, Somerset
St Andrew's Backwell Somerset.jpg
St Andrew's Backwell Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hartcliffe and Bedminster
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bedminster PLU
Registration District Bedminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chew
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BACKWELL (St. Andrew), a parish, and formerly a market-town, in the union of Bedminster, hundred of Hartcliffe with Bedminster, E. division of Somerset, 7¼ miles (S. W. by W.) from Bristol, containing the hamlets of Churchtown, Downside, Farley, Moorside, and West-town.[1]

Additional information:

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Church records are the main source for identifying people prior to 1837 when civil registration began. It is also a main source after 1837 in conjunction with civil registration. The Church of England was formed in 1536, after King Henry VIII severed all ties to the church in Rome. Each local parish was responsible to register all marriages, baptisms and burials starting in 1538 [2] .

Backwell, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[8]
BACKWELL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1558-1838
1558-1842
1558-1853
FS 1598-1812 (gaps)


JOIN
1754-1785

MARR
1558-1836

NBI

1603-1954
SOPC 1672-1838
1695-1842
1693-1853
Church records on microfilm

Bishops Transcripts


Church Vital Records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474598.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

In 1692 the British government instituted another innovative scheme to increase revenue which came to be known as the land tax[9] .

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Backwell/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 11 September 2013.
  2. England Church Records
  3. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 19 February 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  5. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  6. 'Somerset Marriages', FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  8. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  9. Land Tax Assessment Records

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 July 2014, at 18:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,595 times.