Bacton, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandEngland Gotoarrow.png NorfolkGotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bacton

Guide to Bacton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bacton, Norfolk
Saint Andrew Bacton.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tunstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Tunstead and Happing PLU
Registration District Tunstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waxham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bacton St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich and includes Keswick, Bromholm, Brimholm, and Bacton Green.

Bacton, in the middle ages, was home to Broomholm Priory, possessor of a substantial piece of the true cross and one of the largest pilgrimage centres in East Anglia. Due to the presence of the Priory the church is relatively modest.

Bacton is nowadays home to the giant landfall of the North Sea gas terminal and delivery pipeline for a large part of England.

BACTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the Tunstead and Happing incorporation, hundred of Tunstead, E. division of Norfolk, 4¼ miles (N. E. by E.) from North Walsham. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Tunstead 1837-1869
  • Smallburgh 1870-1938
  • North Walsham 1939-1974

Church records

Bacton, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Bacton, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1812

FREG 1558-1603, 1725-1812
1725-1812
1558-1615, 1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1558-1812 1559-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This parish does not appear on Record Search as no microfilm for the parish is held. A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms and burials 1725-1812. Marriages 1725-1811. BRITISH 1526819 Item 6
Non-Conformist Churches
Broomholm Priory.jpg

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438866.


http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Bacton.htm  transcript of 1891 census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 124-128. Date Accessed: 29 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:46.
  • This page has been accessed 4,360 times.