Bacup, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Bacup, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bacup, Lancashire
Bacup St John contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackburn
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Haslingden PLU
Registration District Haslingden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1788
Bishop's Transcripts: 1793
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whalley
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BACUP, a consolidated chapelry, in the townships of Newchurch and Spotland, parishes of Whalley and Rochdale, union of Haslingden, Higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, N. division of Lancashire, 7 miles (N. by W.) from Rochdale. There were two places of worship for Particular Baptists, and two for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Bacup chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
BACOP ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST Chapelry  (1788) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1788-1812 1788-1812 1788-1812
AC 1813-1914 1838-1930 1813-1927
FS 1788-1849 None None
LOPC 1788-1846 None 1788-1853
LBMD None 1838-1950 None
FREG 1816-1818 None None
BACOP ST SAVIOUR Chapelry  (1866) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1866-1946 None
WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing BACUP)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1538-1888 1539-1837 None
LOPC 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1837-1937
FMP None 1539-1627 None
AC 1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
1538-1601, 1605-1653
FREG 1538-1631 1539-1651 1538-?


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Bacup and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899.

Genealogy

Whatmough of Rochdale, Bacup, and Manchester. Family tree of Edmund Wattmoe of Packer died 1689, wife unknown, with the following surnames, Wattmough, Hollows, Bamfour, Cleggswood, Whatmough, Robinson, Whitworth, Beard, Shackleton, Worsley Smethurst, Worsley and Morley, dated 1689-1938 in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 5, no. 2. pages 18-19, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Haslingden, Lancashire Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bacup on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date accessed: 29 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 6,059 times.