Badsworth, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire

Guide to Badsworth, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Gotoarrow.png Badsworth
Badsworth, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Osgoldcross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Hemsworth PLU
Registration District Hemsworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1583
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BADSWORTH (St. Mary), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Osgoldcross, W. riding of York; containing 750 inhabitants, of whom 200 are in the township of Badsworth, 5 miles (S.) from Pontefract. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

BADSWORTH, a township and a parish in Hems worth district, West Riding, Yorkshire.The parish includes also the townships of Upton and Thorpe-Audlin. There are three Methodist chapels.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Badsworth exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BADSWORTH PARISH (1583) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1583-1812 1583-1812 1583-1812 1583-1812 1583-1812 1583-1812
FREG 1813-1901 1813-1850 1813-1851
FS 1585, 1636-1844, 1848 1610-1650, 1685-1860, 1866, 1880 1583-1812
JOIN None 1813-1837 None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1538.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464267.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 128-132. Date accessed: 07 January 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 07th January 2014
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  4. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 27 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,375 times.