Bagthorpe, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Bagthorpe, Norfolk
St Mary Bagthorpe Norfolk contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gallow
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bagthorpe St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Norfolk.

The church is situated in a lane in the hamlet close by Bagtorpe Hall. It was declared redundnat some time ago and is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust although services are still held there on an occasional basis.

BAGTHORPE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Gallow, W. division of Norfolk, 2 miles (E.) from Great Bircham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bagthorpe, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
BAGTHORPE PARISH (1562) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1562-1837

FREG 1564-1906
1569-1905
1574-1916
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1562-1906 Undefined 1562-1913 Undefined 1562-1916
JOIN
1562-1837

PALL
1790-1837

PRTS 1813-1906
1562-1905
1814-1916

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 37

Parish registers for Bagthorpe
Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library in Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms, 1561-1776; marriages, 1561-1753; burials, 1561-1777. Baptisms, 1778-1813; burials, 1778-1806. Baptisms, 1813-1906. Marriages, 1756-1810; marriage banns, 1802-1804. Marriages, 1813-1837, 1850. Marriages, 1837-1905. Burials, 1814-1916. Marriage banns, 1844-1913. Burial transcripts, 1883-1887. FHL BRITISH Film 1911508 Items 10 - 18

Known Issues

There is a known issue in relation to England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Baptisms entered for this parish have been found to be from Rollesby, Norfolk on this film and in indexing batch I07258-3

Archdeacons transcripts Bagthorpe
Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1810 Burials 1725-1807 FHL BRITISH Film 1526789 Item 11

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438859.

Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax Records

  • 1597 Subsidy Taxes:Transcribed by Geoff Lowe and housed on Norfolk Transcription Archives

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 128-132. Date Accessed: 29 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,882 times.