Baguley, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Baguley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Baguley, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1867
Bishop's Transcripts: 1868
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BAGULEY, a township, in the parish of Bowdon, union of Altrincham, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester, it is 6¼ miles (W. by S.) from Stockport.[1]

Baguley St John the Divine is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1848 from  Bowdon, Cheshire Ancient Parish.

The town is mentioned as Bagelei in the Domesday Book of 1086.

Baguley was a township of Bowdon, one of the ancient parishes of the Bucklow Hundred of Cheshire.

The modern parish is part of the Baguley St John (Brooklands) benefice in  Withington deanery of the Diocese of Manchester.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church records

Baguley St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Baguley St John Parish (1867) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1868-1876
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S 1868-1886   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Baguley- St John the Divine, Brooklands

Banns-1900-1947- MFPR 2181
Baptisms-1868-1950- MFPR 2180
Marriages-1868-1941- MFPR 2180
Marriages-1941-1949- MFPR 2181

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Images for certain years are available at FamilySearch Historical Records online derived from microfilm conversion subject to national and international privacy concerns.

Parish registers for St. John-the-Divine's Church, Baguley, 1868-1949 Microfilm of original records formerly held at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: L279.

Baptisms, 1868-1950. Marriages, 1868-September 1941. FHL BRITISH Film 1408755 Items 8 - 9
Marriages, September 1941-1949. Banns of marriages, 1900-1947. VAULT BRITISH Film 1408756 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Baguley, 1868-1886 An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records derived from:

Microfilm of originals in the Cheshire Record Office, Chester.
Cheshire Record Office: EDB 16

Baptisms, 1868-1877, 1886. FHL BRITISH Film 1595462 Item 4

Non Conformist Churches

Baguley- Higher Baguley Wesleyan, Dobbinets Lane
Marriages-1957-1983- Archives M291

Non Conformist Records:

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage a nd death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Altrincham (1837-1898)
  • Bucklow (1898-1931)
  • Manchester South (1931)

Poor Law Unions

Altrincham (renamed Bucklow) Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Baguley on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 128-132. Date accessed: 8 Nov 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 19:30.
  • This page has been accessed 2,589 times.