Bahrain GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Middle East Bahrain
Guide to Bahrain ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records..
(Add introductory text and/or an image here)
Getting started with Bahrain research
In 1783, the al-Khalifa family captured Bahrain from the Persians. In order to secure these holdings, it entered into a series of treaties with the UK during the 19th century that made Bahrain a British protectorate. The archipelago attained its independence in 1971. Bahrain's small size and central location among Persian Gulf countries require it to play a delicate balancing act in foreign affairs among its larger neighbors. Facing declining oil reserves, Bahrain has turned to petroleum processing and refining and has transformed itself into an international banking center.
Learn how to get started with your Bahrain research.
note: each governorate administered by an appointed governor
(Your text or images here)
- (helpful tools and resources, gazetteers)
- (language dictionary, handwriting guide or tutorial, etc.)
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:
Did you know?
(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)
- This page was last modified on 2 February 2015, at 17:38.
- This page has been accessed 4,873 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More