Baildon, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Baildon, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Baildon, Yorkshire Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Carlton Gilbert Union PLU|
|Parish registers: 1621|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1603|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BAILDON (St John), a chapelry, in the parish of Otley, In the wapentake of Skyrack, West Riding, Yorkshire, 4½ miles (N. by W.) from Bradford; containing 3280 inhabitants. The chapelry is divided into Upper and Lower Baildon, and includes the hamlets of Moorside, Charlestown, Gill's-Mills, Trench, and the Green. There are places of worship for Primitive Methodists, Moravians/United Brethren, and Wesleyans Methodist.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Baildon, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BAILDON PARISH (1621) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464269.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2015, at 20:04.
- This page has been accessed 2,872 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More