Baker County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a northeast Oregon county. For other uses, see Baker.

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Baker County

Guide to Baker County Oregon genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Baker County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Baker County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 22, 1862
County Seat Baker City
Courthouse
Or-baker-ch.jpg
Address Baker County Courthouse
1995 Third
Baker City, OR 97814
Website: www.bakercounty.org
Named for: Edward Dickinson Baker
Baker-edwarddickinson.jpg

Contents

County Courthouse

Baker County Government

County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Baker County Court House as of June/July 2010.

Baker County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).

This courthouse has the reputation of being the cleanest county record depository in the state of Oregon.

  • Record Loss: Some will books were lost in a county clerk's office fire in 1890s. One early marriage register is missing (covering 1862-1877) (as of 15 August 2012).

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at

Oregon, Baker County Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Historical Facts

Named for U.S. Senator Edward Dickinson Baker of Oregon, who was killed at the Battle of Ball's Bluff in the Civil War.

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Baker County, Oregon

Boundary Changes

22 September 1862: Baker county was created from Wasco County. [1]

14 October 1864: Union County set off.

17 February 1887: Malheur County set off.

1 February 1901: The Panhandle area between the Powder River and the Wallowa Mountains was returned from Union County, forming the northeast corner of Baker County.

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Biography

An Illustrated history of Baker, Grant, Malheur and Harney counties WorldCat 5436806; FHL
([Spokane, Washington]: Western Historical Publishing Company, 1902).
Heavy on history (prehistoric to time of publication), heavy on biographies of prominent men, but little of genealogies and
Also available in other forms:

  1. Baker County Biographies USGenWeb Archives Project
  2. WorldCat 24186308
  3. eBook - HeritageQuestonline.com (LAR)

Thirty-one years in Baker County: a history of the county from 1861 to 1893; Isaac Hiatt WorldCat 841884; FHL
(Baker, Oregon: Baker County Historical Society and the Powder River Sportsmen's Club, 1970).

Cemeteries (Rural)

  • Baker County, Oregon: reprints of records published in the Oregon Genealogical Society quarterly, volumes 21-22. 1982-1984 FHL 1049531
  • Baker County Cemeteries USGenWeb Archives Project

Census

Federal

Note: 1870, 1880, 1890 and 1900 censuses, the Panhandle of Baker County enumerations can be found in Union County when it was part of Union County.

  • 1870 - the area between Baker City, Haines and the Blue Mountains, generally known as Wingville was overlooked and not enumerated.

Baker County 1870 Census USGenweb Archives Project

  • Eastern Oregon 1870 U.S. Census: Baker County, Grant County, Umatilla County, Union County FHL
  • 1880 - the portion that was later be Malheur County, all the places south of Malheur River including what is now Ontario, Vale, Nyssa, Owyhee, etc was not enumerated.
  1. Baker County 1880 Census USGenWeb Archives Project
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

State

  • 1905

Church History and Records (rural only)

Court Records

  • Widow's pension applications and ledger, Baker County, Oregon, 1913-1936 FHL
    (Baker County Court, State of Oregon, 2001)

Directories

  • Eastern Oregon directory, 1899-1900: a complete directory of Umatilla, Union and Baker counties; with the Portland business directory FHL Collection
  • Baker City (Oregon) city directories, 1908-1935 FHL Collection
  • Baker (Baker County, Oregon) city directory: including Baker County residents, rural routes, also a buyers' guide and a complete classified business directory, 1959- FHL Collection

Emigration and Immigration

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Baker County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Gotoarrow-kelly.png Biography, History

  • The History of Baker County; Baker County Historical Society, pub. 1986. WorldCat 15218008; FHL Collection
    ([S.l.]: Baker County Historical Society (OR), 1986)
    Little of biography and local history, more of family genealogies.
  • Centennial pioneer families of Baker County, 1976 FHL Collection

History

Also see: Biography, Genealogy

Land and Property

Married Women's Separate Property in Baker County Original text from Works Progress Administration's booklet, USGenWeb Archives Project

  1. [http://www.usgwarchives.net/or/baker/bakerdeeds.htm

Maps

Orbaker.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

  1. Newspaper clippings USGenWeb Archives Project
  2. Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Obituaries

  1. Baker County Obituaries USGenWeb Archives Project
  2. Obituaries Baker Co OR Trails to the Past Project

Pensions

Gotoarrow-kelly.png Court records for the widows pensions

Probate Records

Note: some will books were lost in a small fire in the county clerk's office before 1900.

  1. Baker County wills USGenWeb Archives Project

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

  • Baker County, [Oregon], assessment tax rolls, 1892-1897 FHL
  • Baker City (Oregon) city directories FHL microfilm 2309792 Item 1
    Tax lists are for Baker, Grant and Union counties 1908-1909, listed as last part of the volume.

Vital Records

Record of births and deaths: record of physicians, midwives and undertakers, 1916-1929 #FHL

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth Records

Delayed Birth Certificates

  1. Birth Certificates USGenWeb Archives

Birth Registers

  1. FHL

Marriage Records

  1. Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
  2. Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection

Death Records

  1. Baker County Deaths USGenWeb Archives Project
  2. Record of deaths, Baker County, Oregon, 1905-1911 FHL

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Web Sites

Baker County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. WorldCat 50140092; FHL CollectionHandybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
  2. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap5.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 May 2014, at 20:23.
  • This page has been accessed 27,363 times.