Balderton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Balderton, Nottinghamshire
Balderton St Giles Nottinghamshire.jpg
Balderton St Giles Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BALDERTON (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Newark, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (S. E.) from Newark.[1]

Additional information:

Balderton St Giles is an Ancient parish in one of the largest villages in Nottinghamshire.

The church dates from the 12th century and was restored in 1880 and has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of the parish Balderton St Giles

The parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with Lincolnshire and is so extensive that it neighbours 4 Lincolnshire parishes.

RAF Balderton opened in 1941 as an air base Balderton was known as USAAF Station AAF-482 for security reasons by the USAAF during the war, and by which it was referred to instead of location. It's USAAF Station Code was "BD".

Balderton Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

Newark
The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
Newark
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259
newarkro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Balderton, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BALDERTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1538-1812

Balderton St Giles

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1538-1958 Marriages 1540-1960 Burials 1539-1962 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1848
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Balderton

Mills, Harold.  A List of Vicars of Balderton Cum Farendon from 1426-1901. A list of Vicars of Faringdon otherwise Farendon cum Balderton, giving the date, and name and who they replaced from 1426-1901. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 1047, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 111, pages 34-35, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Transcribed by Mills, Harold.  Balderton Freehold List 1806.  Part of the Duke of Newcastle's estate in Neward and area.  An alphabetical listing of people, and their address in the article from the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref C/QA/CP 5/6/230  and also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 109 page 65-69, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Property

Mills, Harold. Valuation List for the Parish of Balderton in the County of Nottingham 1892-1896. List gives name of Occupier, name of Owner, Description of Property, and name or situation of property. Original held at Nottinghmshire Archives Ref PaC 23/31, trancription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol. 113, pages 1-30 FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

In GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 October 2014, at 20:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,527 times.