Baldwin County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

This article is about a southwest Alabama county. For other uses, see Baldwin.

United States Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Baldwin County

Guide to Baldwin County Alabama genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Baldwin County, Alabama
Map
Map of Alabama highlighting Baldwin County
Location in the state of Alabama
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1809
County Seat Mintre
Courthouse
Address Baldwin County Courthouse
1 Court Square
PO Box 239
Bay Mintre, AL 36507
Phone: (334) 937-9561 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Baldwin County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Baldwin County Courthouse
1 Court Square
PO Box 239
Bay Mintre, AL 36507
Phone: (334) 937-9561

The Probate Court has marriage records from 1810,
probate records from 1809 and land records from 1808.
The Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce and court records.[1]

 

History

Baldwin County initially fell within the bounds of Mississippi Territory.

Parent County

1809--Baldwin County was created 21 December 1809 from Washington County and part of Florida.
County seat: Bay Minette [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Albaldwin.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.  Both should be used:

Biographies

Biographies of many notable residents of Baldwin County, Alabama were published in Memorial Record of Alabama (1893). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Begins on page 376.

Cemeteries

FindAGrave ~  Listing of 222 Baldwin county cemeteries with partial or complete transcriptions.


Community Cemetery
Montgomery Hill Baptist Cemetery


Census

Historical populations
Year Pop.  %±
1820 1,718
1830 2,324 35.3%
1840 2,951 27.0%
1850 4,414 49.6%
1860 7,530 70.6%
1870 6,004 −20.3%
1880 8,603 43.3%
1890 8,941 3.9%
1900 13,194 47.6%
1910 18,178 37.8%
1920 20,730 14.0%
1930 28,289 36.5%
1940 32,324 14.3%
1950 40,997 26.8%
1960 49,088 19.7%
1970 59,382 21.0%
1980 78,556 32.3%
1990 98,280 25.1%
2000 140,415 42.9%
2010 182,265 29.8%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml.  Census Bureau

For tips on accessing Baldwin County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

  • 1855 - Population Index to the 1855 Baldwin County Census at Ancestry ($). Includes heads of household.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Baldwin County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Baldwin County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2006. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.121 E7bg.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Baldwin County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Baldwin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Baldwin County.

- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Baldwin Rifles"
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
Civil War Records


Civil War Battles Fought in Baldwin County
  • 1864 - August 2-23 = Mobile Bay, also known as Passing of Forts Morgan and Gaines, (partly fought in Mobile County)
  • 1865 - March 27-April 8, 1865 = Spanish Fort
  • 1865 - April 2-9 = Fort Blakely

Battle information from Civil War Battle Summaries by State, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Map showing Civil War battles in Alabama, by the Heritage Preservation Services.

Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Baldwin County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Baldwin County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Baldwin County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • 1830-1976 - Baldwin County, Alabama Probate Records, 1830-1976 at FamilySearch - free.

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1816 - Inhabitants of Alabama in 1816. Broken Arrow Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 1955. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Includes Baldwin County.
  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Baldwin County is in District 1.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1810–1825; 1845–1889; 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry– ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears
  • 1845–1889 "Alabama Marriages, 1809-1920"at Ancestry– ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.

Baldwin County has three books:

Societies and Libraries

Family History Center

28721 County Road 13
Daphne, Baldwin, Alabama, United States
Phone: 251-625-1386
Hours: T 10am-2pm; W 6:30-8:30; Th 12-4pm

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 35.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 Coverage Table, "Alabama County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," FamilySearch Research Wiki, https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Alabama_County_Marriages_(FamilySearch_Historical_Records), accessed 6 August 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 21,693 times.