Baldwin County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow.png  Baldwin County

Guide to Baldwin County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Baldwin County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Baldwin County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded May 11, 1803
County Seat Milledgeville
Courthouse
Address Baldwin County Courthouse
121 N Wilkinson
Milledgeville, GA 31061-3346
Phone: 912.734.3007
Baldwin County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Baldwin County Courthouse
121 N Wilkinson St
Milledgeville, GA 31061-3346
Phone: 912.734.3007

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1930, marriage and probate records from 1875; Clerk Superior Court has land, divorce and court records.[1]

Beginning Dates for Baldwin County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1930
1875
1930


1875

History

Parent County

1803--Baldwin County was created 11 May 1803 from the Creek Indian Lands.  County seat:  Milledgeville [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1861. The courthouse at Milledgeville burned at the hands of an arsonist 24 February 1861. Superior Court records were totally destroyed. Ordinary Court and Sheriff's Office records were saved.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Hancock  • Jones  • Putman  • Washington  • Wilkinson

Baldwin CountyJones CountyBibb CountyWilkinson CountyTwiggs CountyHouston CountyPeach CountyCrawford CountyMonroe CountyJasper CountyButts CountyNewton CountyMorgan CountyPutnam CountyHancock CountyGreene CountyWarren CountyTaliaferro CountyWashington CountyJohnson CountyLaurens CountyGABaldwin.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Mailing Lists
  • GA-Roots A mailing list for anyone with a genealogical interest in Georgia. (Rootsweb)

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Baldwin County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Cook, Anna Maria Green. History of Baldwin County, Georgia. Anderson, S.C.: Keys-Hearn Print. Co., 1925. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Beeson, Leola Selman. History Stories of Milledgeville and Baldwin County. Macon, Ga.: J.W. Burke Co., 1943. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gabaldwin.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Baldwin County, Georgia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Baldwin County, Georgia:


- 4th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 45th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 57th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 7th Battalion, Georgia Cavalry (State Guards) (Confederate)
- Military Records - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

Naturalization

Newspapers

Occupations

Probate Records

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Baldwin County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Wills
  • 1806-1864 - Baldwin County, Georgia Index of Wills at GAGenWeb - free.
  • 1806-1829 - Abstracts of Baldwin County, Georgia Will Book A at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1829-1918 - Baldwin County, Georgia Will Testators Index (Vols. A-B) at SamPubCo - free.
  • 1829-1854 - Abstracts of Baldwin County, Georgia Wills at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1829-1868 - Index to Baldwin County, Georgia Will Book B at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1868-1936 - Index to Baldwin County, Georgia Will Book C at Georgia Pioneers ($).
Additional Probate Records
  • 1813-1820 - Index to Baldwin County, Georgia Annual Returns Book A at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1820-1824 - Index to Baldwin County, Georgia Annual Returns Book B at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1824-1831 - Index to Baldwin County, Georgia Annual Returns Book C at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1831-1842 - Index to Baldwin County, Georgia Annual Returns Book D at Georgia Pioneers ($).
  • 1839-1856 - Index to Baldwin County, Georgia Annual Returns Book E at Georgia Pioneers ($).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
  • 1806-1842 - Baldwin County Marriage Book A Index 1806-1842. Batch M712041 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1835-1851 - Baldwin County Marriage Book B Index 1835-1851. Batch M712042 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1852-1874 - Baldwin County Marriage Books C and D Index 1852-1874. Batch M712043 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1874-1887 - Baldwin County Marriage Book E Index 1874-1887. Batch M712044 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1887-1895 - Baldwin County Marriage Index 1887-1895. Batch M712045 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death
  • 1849-50, 1869-70 - Baldwin County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Baldwin County, Georgia. Page 151 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 14. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:46.
  • This page has been accessed 14,894 times.