Ballingham and Bolstone, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Ballingham, Herefordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Ballingham and Bolstone, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ballingham and Bolstone, Herefordshire
Ballingham St+Dubricius Herefordshire.JPG
Ballingham St+Dubricius Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wormelow
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Ross PLU
Registration District Hereford; Ross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588; Separate registers exist for Bolstone beginning 1765; For more records see Holme Lacy
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Archenfield
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BALLINGHAM (St. Dubritius), a parish, in the union of Ross, Upper division of the hundred of Wormelow, county of Hereford, 7 miles (North West) from Ross. [1]


Ballingham St Dubricius is an Ancient parish which included Bolston (sometimes Bolstone) see Bolstone, Herefordshire.

The Parish Church of St Dubricius, Ballingham has been designated a grade II* listed building [1]

Ballingham with Bolstone which in several accounts is described as a chapelry to St Dubricius is now served by the South Wye Ministry Team

See also the Wikipedia [2], and Herefordshire churches.[3]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Ballingham and Boulstone

Census records

Census returns for Ballingham 1841-1891

Census returns for Bolstone 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[4] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[5] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Ross Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Ballingham/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 August 2014, at 15:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,325 times.