Bamburgh, Northumberland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bamburgh, Northumberland)

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Bamburgh, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bamburgh, Northumberland
St Aidan's Church Bambrugh Northumberland.jpg
St Aidan's Church Bambrugh Northumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bambrough
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Belford
Registration District Belford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bamburgh
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BAMBROUGH-CASTLE, a township, in the parish, and N. division of the ward, of Bambrough, union of Belford, N. division of Northumberland, 5 miles(E. by N.) from Belford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Bamburgh, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Bamburgh, Northumberland Genealogy Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTs 1652-1812
1652-1812
1652-1809
PRTs 1758-1902 1754-1812, 1837-1875 1810-1902

Records of baptisms 1654-1902, marriages 1653-1960 and burials 1698-1902 are available at  Northumberland Collections Service. Transcripts of baptisms 1654-1757, marriages 1653-1758 and burials 1652-1809 for Bamburgh are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/16 Parish Register transcripts 1762-1851 are available to search free online at Record Search. The transcripts include some transcripts for the years June 1790-March 1798 for the chapelry of Beadnell, Northumberland See also separate series of transcripts for Beadnell, Northumberland

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. 

Other places within the parish include: Mousen,Mouson,Mowson,Newham, Newham near Belford, Newstead, Outchester, Ratchwood, Shoreston, Shorstone,Shoston,Spindleston.
 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438884.


Poor Law Unions

Belford Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Date accessed: 17 December 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.

Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

Bamburgh Research project website http://www.bamburghresearchproject.co.uk/

Bamburgh Castle Saxon archaeology http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-13155418

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 January 2016, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 4,466 times.