Bampton Lew, OxfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Bampton Lew, Oxfordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bampton Lew, Oxfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Witney PLU
Registration District Witney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1842
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witney
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

LEW, a hamlet, in the parish and union of Witney, hundred of Bampton, county of Oxford, 3¾ miles(S. W.) from Witney. A chapel of ease has been erected. [1]

Bampton Lew is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Oxfordshire, created in 1845 from Bampton Ancient Parish. Lew is a hamlet in the parish of Witney but in the hundred of Bampton. Further descriptions are available on Genuki.org.uk. eNotes provides additional information on this parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bampton Lew, Oxfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Bampton Lew, Oxfordshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1842-1875
OFHS 1842-1996
1860-1969
1843-1999


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474571.

 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-78. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 April 2014, at 04:36.
  • This page has been accessed 495 times.