Bandera County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bandera County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bandera County, Texas|
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||January 26, 1856|
|Address|| Bandera County Courthouse|
Bandera, TX 78003
Bandera County Website
County District Clerk has birth and death records from 1904,
m, div, land, pro, ct & nat rec from 1856 & mil dis rec from 1900
Bandera County has had two courthouses. The first one, built of limestone in 1869, is now a library. It is located on Maple Street, a block from the current courthouse. The current courthouse, also made from limestone, was built in 1890.
Bandera County Courthouse
County Clerk - Cathy Wheeler
500 Main Street
P. O. Box 823
Bandera, Texas 78003
The Bandera County Clerk's Office
Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Bandera County, 1940. Inventory of records of housed in the Bandera County Courthouse as of 1936. Describes the records of the Commissioners Court, County Clerk as Recorder, District Court, County Court, Justice of the Peace Court, Sheriff, Tax Assessor-Collector, Board of Equalization, County Treasurer, County Board of School Trustees, County School Superintendent, County Surveyor, and Inspector of Hides and Animals (Defunct). Read the book online from The Portal to Texas History.
1856--Bandera County was created 26 January 1856 from Bexar Land District. County seat: Bandera 
The county's name is derived from Spanish for "flag."
See an interactive map of Bandera County border changes.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Published Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|Family History Library|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Sources
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local histories are available for Bandera County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Pioneer history of Bandera County : seventy-five years of intrepid history, 1922, by J. Marvin Hunter, A history of Bandera County from 1847 to 1922. Read the book online from The Portal to Texas History.
- One Hundred Years in Bandera, 1853–1953, by J. Marvin Hunter.
- History of Bandera County, Texas, 1986 by the Bandera County History Book Committee.
- Bandera County History from The Handbook of Texas Online.
- Families and People of Bandera County
- Bandera County History
- Old Photos of Bandera County Citizens
- Bandera County Historical Photos from banderacounty.org
- The Flood of 1978
- Trials and Tribulations on the Frontier
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bandera County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
Off-line Newspaper Information
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Online Newspaper Archives
Wikipedia has a list of online newspaper archives for Texas.
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has San Antonio newspapers from the late 1800's that may include residents from Bandera County.
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas or How to order Texas Vital Records
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred, ordered electronically online or download an application for Texas Birth and Death Certificate, Marriage or Divorce Verification Application to mail.
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- Texas, Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 (images and index) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Birth Index, 1903-1997 (index only) - FamilySearch
- Texas, Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch
Original Birth Records on Microfilm
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 ~ FamilySearch records collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas, Marriages, 1966-2010 ~ FamilySearch record collection
- Texas County Marriage Records, 1837-1977 - FamilySearch. Index to a variety of marriage records (registers, licenses, intentions to marry, etc.) from select counties in Texas.
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- Bandera County TXGenWeb Page
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List - Links to state and county resources
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bandera County, Texas. Page 658 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 30 July 2014, at 21:46.
- This page has been accessed 16,557 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki