Banningham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Banningham, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Banningham, Norfolk
Banningham St Botolph.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Aylsham PLU
Registration District Aylsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1709
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Banningham St Botolph is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
Banningham has an entry in the Domesday Book of 1085. In the great book Banningham is recorded by the names Banincha, and Hamingeha. The main landholder is William de Warenne and the Abbot of Holm. The main tenant is Roger from Reynald Fitzlvo.
The church dates from the 14th century. Banningham is a village within the civil parish of Colby in the English county of Norfolk.The village is 2.9 miles north east of Aylsham, 14.7 miles west north of Norwich and 129 miles north east of London. The village lies a small distance east from the A140 Cromer to Norwich road.
For local government purposes the civil parish is in North Norfolk district.
BANNINGHAM (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union of Aylsham, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 2 miles (N. E.) from Aylsham. There is a place of worship for Primitive Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Banningham, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Banningham, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1600-1912
1600-1901
1600-1904
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1709-1786, 1813-1912 Undefined 1709-1901 Undefined 1709-1786, 1813-1904
JOIN
1813-1837

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 397/1-5, 12-13

Parish registers for Banningham
Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library in Norwich, Norfolk, England.

General registers, 1709-1786 (baptisms, marriages, burials). Baptisms, 1813-1912. Marriages, 1755-1812; marriage banns, 1755-1816. FHL BRITISH Film 1951568 Items 23 - 25
Marriages, 1813-1901. Burials, 1813-1904. FHL BRITISH Film 1951630 Items 1 - 3
Archdeacons transcripts

Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Early entries in Latin.

Baptisms 1600-1610, 1623-1630?, 1665-1702, 1720-1812 Marriages 1600?-1610?, 1623?-1630?, 1665-1702 1720-1812 Burials 1600-1608, 1623?-1630?, 1665-1694, 1720-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526779 Item 3

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.


Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 136-141. Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/banningham-st-botolph/ for information about the parish

http://www.imagesofengland.org.uk/details/default.aspx?id=224474

http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/banningham/banningham.htm Norfolk Churches website

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 2,327 times.