Bardsey, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Bardsey
Bardsey, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Skyrack
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Preston Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Guide to Bardsey, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BARDSEY (All Saints), a parish, in the Lower division of the wapentake of Skyrack, W. riding of York; containing, with the townships of Bardsey-with Rigton, Wothersome, and part of Wike, 469 inhabitants, of whom 364 are in the township of Bardsey-with Rigton, 5 miles (S. W. by S.) from Wetherby, on the road to Leeds. .[1]

BARDSEY, a township in Tadcaster district, and a parish partly also in Otley district, W. R. Yorkshire. The parish includes also the township of Wothersome, and part of that of Wike.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records
AC = Ancestry - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BARDSEY PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
FS 1538-1905

1539-1899

1838-1905

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1538.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464268.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, , A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 141-145. Date accessed: 07 January 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales1870-1872 Adapted. Date accessed: 07th January 2014
  3. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,882 times.