Barlby, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I         Bafrlby

Guide to Barlby, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

BARLBY, a chapelry, in the parish of Hemingbrough, union of Selby, wapentake of Ouse and Derwent, E. riding of York, 1½ mile (N. E. by E.) from Selby; containing 387 inhabitants. [1]

BARLBY, a chapelry in Hemingbrough parish, E. R. Yorkshire; on the river Ouse. It includes Barlby-Bank hamlet.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barlby, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
BARLBY Chapelry (1781) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1781-1901

1823-1901

1885-1902

NBI

1782, 1785-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464223.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place

Websites

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 145-148. Date accessed: 07 January 2014.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales1870-1872; Date accessed: 07th January 2014
  3. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (East Riding) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,953 times.