Barmston, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png East Riding Gotoarrow.png Barmston

Guide to Barmston, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barmston, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holderness
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Bridlington PLU
Registration District Bridlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Holderness
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARMSTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bridlington, N. division of the wapentake of Holderness, East Riding Yorkshire. The village is pleasantly situated at the northern extremity of Holderness, on the road from Hull to Bridlington and Scarborough. There is a church at Ulrome; and a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records
IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
FMP = findmypast (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BARMSTON PARISH (1721) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1721-1843

1722-1844

None

JOIN None

1722-1837

None

FMP (£) None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1571.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464220.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England publ. London: 1831 Adapted. Date accessed: 7 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,425 times.