Barnby in the Willows, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Barnby, Nottinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Barnby in the Willows, Nottinghamshire
Barnby in the Willows All Saints Nottinghamshire.jpg
Barnby in the Willows All Saints Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newark
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newark PLU
Registration District Newark
Records begin
Parish registers: 1593
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARNBY-IN-THE-WILLOWS (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Newark, S. division of the wapentake of Newark and of the county of Nottingham, 4¼ miles (E. by S.) from Newark. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. Flawford was a farm that anciently belonged to the Knights Templars.[1]

Additional information:

Barnby-in-the-Willows All Saints is an Ancient Parish whose boundary forms part of the county boundary with Lincolnshire with neighbours Claypole, Lincolnshire  and Beckingham, Lincolnshire

The church of All Saints dates from the 13th century and has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage listed building

The village and civil parish of Barnby-in-the-Willows is part of the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.See also Barnby in the Willows Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district

Certificates can be obtained from:

Newark
The Register Office
County Offices
Balderton Gate
Newark
NG24 1UW
01636 705455
01636 679259
newarkro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Barnby in the Willows, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BARNBY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1593-1812


Barnby in the Willows All Saints

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1593-1967 Marriages 1593-1982 Burials 1593-2009 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1841
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Barnby in the Willows

Barnby in the Willows - All Saints. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the church, dated from 1686 giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 1-3, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438907.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Trascribed by Bailey, Bryan.  Barnby Moor Population Census 1832.  A list of the population taken by William Scott as Overseer of the Township of Barnby Moor and Bilby on 8 November 1832, Original at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 19,556, and in the Family History Society Magazine, vol. 109, page 59. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Newark Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Barnby in the Willows in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/BarnbyintheWillows/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 December 2014, at 02:42.
  • This page has been accessed 2,080 times.