Barnham Broom, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Barnham Broom, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barnham Broom, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Forehoe
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Forehoe PLU
Registration District Forehoe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1630
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hingham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Barnham Broom St Peter and St Paul  is an Ancient Parish in the county of Norfolk and diocese of Norwich.

Other places in the parish include: Bickerstone and Bixton.
15th century church with later renovation

BARNHAM-BROOM (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Forehoe, E. division of Norfolk, 4¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Wymondham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Forehoe 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Barnham Broom, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[7]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[8]
Barnham Broom, Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1630-1874
1660-1901
1650-1921
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1630-1874 Undefined 1630-1749, 1754-1901 Undefined 1630-1921
JOIN
1725-1837

NBI

1765-1883
NTA 1725-1811
1725-1810
1725-1811

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 326/1
Title Baptisms, 1630, 1633, 1646-1749; Marriages, 1654-1748; and Burials, 1649-1749.
Date 1630-1716
Description With memorandum by rector that he had 'diligently Enquird for the Old Register but can get not account of it. It has bin missing ever Since the last Mr Gannings death, as I am inform'd,' and lists of collections for briefs, 1653-1716.

Known Issues

The images on FamilySearch marked baptisms marriages and burials 1630-1749 are incomplete and baptisms end in 1724. Reloading of additional images await engineering in future. 

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Forehoe     http://www.institutions.org.uk/workhouses/england/norf/forehoe_workhouse.htm

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 148-153. Date accessed: 29 August 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' FindMyPast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  8. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/barnham-broom-st-peter-st-paul/ for information about the parish

http://www.norwich.anglican.org/church?deanery=8 for churches in the local deanery of Dereham in Mitford

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50779 British History online

http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/barnhambroom/barnhambroom.htm Norfolk Churches website

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 September 2014, at 20:37.
  • This page has been accessed 1,815 times.