Barningham with Coney Weston, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Barningham with Coney Weston, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barningham with Coney Weston, Suffolk
Barningham St Andrew.JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackbourn
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Thetford PLU
Registration District Thetford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Coney Weston beginning 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563; Separate records exist for Coney Weston beginning 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Blackbourn
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARNINGHAM (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Thetford, hundred of Blackbourn, W. division of Suffolk, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Ixworth. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans .[1] 

CONEY WESTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thetford, hundred of Blackbourn, W. division of Suffolk, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Ixworth. [2]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Thetford 1837-1935
  • Bury St Edmunds 1935-1974

Church records

Barningham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5][6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[9]
Barningham Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1538-1724

FMP 1668-1840 1668-1837 1633-1809
NBI

1633-1900

Coney Weston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Coney Weston Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1836
BOYD
1562-1751

FMP 1621-1812 1673-1836 1624-1812
FREG 1764-1837
1754-1837
1764-1837
NBI

1538-1900
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474634.


The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. Find my Past 1911 census search

Poor Law Unions

Thetford Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 148-153. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 June 2012.
  2. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 524-527. Adapted. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  6. 'Suffolk Marriage Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  7. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  8. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:44.
  • This page has been accessed 914 times.