Barnsley St John, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Barnsley St John
Barnsley St John, Yorkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staincross
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Barnsley PLU
Registration District Barnsley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1845
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Guide to Barnsley St John, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

BARNSLEY, a market town and chapelry, in the parish of Silkstone, wapentake of Staincross, W. riding of York, 14 miles (N.) from Sheffield, 38 (S. by W.) from York, and 177 (N. W. by N.) from London; containing 12,310 inhabitants. A church district named St. John's was formed in 1844. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, and Wesleyans; and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

 Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Barnsley St John exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BARNSLEY ST JOHN CHAPELRY (1845) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1845-1850

None

None

JOIN None

None

None

FMP (£) None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464275.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 153-158. Adapted. Date accessed: 07 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,416 times.