Barnstaple, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Barnstaple, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Barnstaple, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Braunton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Barnstaple PLU
Registration District Barnstaple
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1596
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Barnstaple
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BARNSTAPLE, or Barum (St. Peter and St.Paul), a port, borough, market-town, and parish, having exclusive jurisdiction,and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Braunton, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 40 miles (N. W.) from Exeter. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Barnstaple, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
GOOG = Google Books - free.[2]
IARC = Internet Archive - free.[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) (£).[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
BARNSTAPLE PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1812 1538-1653,
1694-1709
1543-1590,
1740-1760
GOOG 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
IARC 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1812
IGI 1538-1812 1538-1812
PALL 1790-1812
TGEN 1505-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241303.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 153-158. Date accessed: 18 July 2012.
  2. Thomas Wainwright, Barnstaple Parish Register of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538 A.D. to 1812 A.D., 3 vols. in 1 (Exeter: James G. Cummin, 1903). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  3. Thomas Wainwright, Barnstaple Parish Register of Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538 A.D. to 1812 A.D., 3 vols. in 1 (Exeter: James G. Cummin, 1903). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,595 times.