Barnston, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Barnston

Guide to Barnston, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BARNSTON, a township with a chapelry (1871), in the parish of Woodchurch (which see), union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, S. division of the county of Chester, 4½ miles (N. by W.) from Great Neston.[1] A chapelry was created here by 1871 (see below).

WOODCHURCH (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Wirrall, South division of Cheshire; with the townships of Arrowe, Barnston, Landican, Noctorum, Oxton, Pensby, Prenton, Thingwall, and part of Irby.[2]

Woodchurch, Holy Cross (Church of England). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Arrowe, Barnston, Claughton cum Grange (part), Irby (part), Landican, Noctorum, Oxton, Pensby, Prenton, Thingwall and Woodchurch.

The cross probably stood intact in the graveyard until the 17th century when many such crosses were destroyed by the Puritans it has been said. In the 14th century the south aisle, chancel and tower were added. The south aisle was rebuilt in the 16th century and a south porch was added. Heavy diagonal buttresses were added to the tower in 1675. The vestry was built in 1766. The north aisle by Hubert Worthington was added in 1964–65.

From the Ancient parish two later parishes were created:

Barnston, Christ Church (C of E). The chapelry's registers begin by 1871; a parish church since 1880.
Pensby, St. Michael and All Angels (C of E). Founded 1958 as a chapel to Barnston. Registers of Baptisms from 1958 and Marriages from 1964 are held at the church.

Resources

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241254.

Church records

Online data content exists for both Barnston Chapelry and the ancient parish of Woodchurch to which it was attached, transcribed from original registers of christenings, marriages and burials which have been indexed by the following groups and ranges of years:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Barnston Christ Church Chapelry (1871) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1871-1909
NONE
1885-1934
NONE
NONE
NONE
FS BT'S 1873-1883
NONE
NONE
NONE
1873-1883
NONE
Woodchurch Parish Holy Cross (1571) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1571-1909
NONE
1571-1934
NONE
1580-1913
NONE
FS BT'S 1582-1894
NONE
1582-1836
NONE
1567-1894
NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Registers of Baptisms 1571–1945, Marriages 1571–1951 and Burials 1571–1913 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office Microreproduction of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Includes some Latin
Cheshire Record Office call number: P50/4765/1-3, 5-17, 20-22.

The Family History Library (FHL) has copies of the following Barnston Christ Church Chapelry records.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1871-1935. Marriage banns, 1872-1937 2103920 Items 6 - 7

The Family History Library (FHL) has copies of the following Woodchurch Parish records.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Burials, 1571-1812. Baptisms, 1571-1945. Marriages, 1571-1754, 1760-1933. 2106346
Marriages, 1933-1940. Marriage banns, 1823-1872, 1923-1940. Burials, 1813-1913 2106347
Items 1 - 7
Marriages, 1940-Apr. 1947 2262943
Items 10 - 11
Marriages, Apr. 1947-1951 2262944
Item 1

Bishop's transcripts for Barnston.

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1873, burials, 1874-1877, baptisms, 1874-1881, 1878, 1881-1883, burials, 1878-1881, 1883

1595462

Item 5 

Bishop's transcripts for Woodchurch, 1581-1894. Record are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office number: EDB/226. The Family History Library has copies of the following records.

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1581, 1586-1589, 1596-1597, 1600-1601, 1604-1611, 1615-1620, 1622-1625, 1627-1628, 1630-1636, 1638-1639, 1642, 1666-1677, 1679-1685, 1690-1826, 1829-1836. Baptisms, burials, 1837. Baptisms, 1855-1856, 1858-1869. 1836383
Item 2
Baptisms, 1869-1894. Burials, 1891-1894 1836384
Item 1

The above records can be searched in online indexes of Cheshire parish registers and Bishop's Transcripts at FamilySearch Historical recordsThe parish is also included in the online transcript collection Cheshire Parish Register project.

Woodchurch- Holy Cross
Baptisms-1571-1945- MFPR 475
Burials-1571-1812- MFPR 475
Burials-1813-1913- MFPR 476
Marriages-1571-1759- MFPR 475
Marriages-1760-1930- MFPR 476

For original registers of above please enquire at Cheshire Record Office.

The Manchester Room and Greater Manchester County Record Office
Email: archiveslocalstudies@manchester.gov.uk

The Manchester Room@City Library (Local Studies)

Nonconformist Churches

  • Woodchurch, St. Michael & All Angels (Roman Catholic). Founded 1952.
  • Woodchurch, Methodist Chapel. Founded 1957, Built in 1963.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1837–1974)
  • Birkenhead (1974–1998)
  • Wirral (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 153-158. Date accessed: 10 June 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted. Date accessed: 19 April 2013.

For details about the parish

Facebook page Holy Cross Church Woodchurch

Wikipedia page Holy Cross Church, Woodchurch

Gen UKI page for woodchurch

Bibliography

  • Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 81, ISBN 1871731232
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 364–367
  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 193, ISBN 0 907768 18 0
  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 105–106, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:47.
  • This page has been accessed 618 times.